Latest News

Sticky -
if you're enjoying the competition and the weekly updates then you can contribute to the upkeep of the site by buying me a coffee. Click on the button below to find out more:

Fill out my online form.

Sunday, August 1, 2021 -
We've ended up with joint winners in the July competition - the two winners will take part at a penalty shoot-out at the Aviva on Tuesday night at half-time between Bohs and Paok - you can see the final results for July by clicking here...

It's still nip and tuck between Connor Edwards and James Connolly at the top of the main competition - you can see the updated standings on the main leaderboard by clicking here...

All but two of the first round games in our FAI Cup competition produced a winner so we'll have a couple of replays next weekend- you can see the results from the first round games here...

Sunday, July 18, 2021 -
It's congratulations to Lisa Donnelly who wins this season's league cup competition. She held off the challenge of Tommy Hamill in this weekend's final. You can see the final outcome here...

Sunday, July 11, 2021 - After a month of great entertainment, Italy have been crowned champions of Europe. England's long wait for a tournament victory stretching back to 1966 continues after a penalty shoot out defeat.

The tournament prize fund of €550 was up for grabs tonight - you can see the final Euro 2020 standings by clicking here....

    How Does It All Work Then?
Points are earned from predicting the scorelines in each match in the 2021 SSE Airtricity Premier and First Divisions - for each game you'll get either zero, five or ten points depending how close you are to getting the scoreline exactly right.

You can also pay your entrance fee now too if you like. The charge for 2021 will be €10.50 with all entrance fees collected less transaction charges going into the prize fund:


The Greatest League is maintained by Joe Turner when he's not stuck on the day job
or shouting on the Hoops on a Friday night from a socially distant vantage point (for now.....). © 2020-21